top of page
Search
  • Jordan Epp @j_epp22

Creating a Dallas Cowboys Mini-Board


When the Dallas Cowboys took Penn State linebacker Micah Parsons in the first round of the 2021 NFL Draft, I was not initially happy with the pick. I'm willing to go on record saying that I was wrong, but I have two defenses for my initial reaction.


Firstly, I was reacting under the assumption he would play interior linebacker, a position that I did not think we needed at the time. I had no way of knowing what our true plan with him was, which was to play him as both a linebacker and an edge rusher, a position which has quickly made him one of the best players in the NFL.


Secondly, I was upset that we did not get the pick that I wanted instead, which was Northwestern tackle Rashawn Slater. I thought an offensive tackle was a much more pressing need for the Cowboys than a linebacker, and it remained a need in the 2022 NFL Draft when they took Tulsa's Tyler Smith. Slater went on to be drafted the very next pick by the Los Angeles Chargers and was Second-team All-Pro as a rookie. So, at least the player I wanted was good too, right?


This is not just a story to poke fun at me for overlooking one of the best defenders in the NFL, but it's also an excellent segue into describing a mini-board. Often what you see from analysts and publications are big boards: a list of the top prospects ranked one-through-whatever showing generally who is the best prospect in the draft.


However, this isn't how teams operate. Traditional big boards are too generalized for everyone, as every team has different needs, schemes, financial commitments, pending free agents and more. The Carolina Panthers likely have a quarterback at the top of their board, but the Kansas City Chiefs probably don't.


That's why I wanted Slater over Parsons, not necessarily because I thought Parsons was a bad player, but because I thought Slater was a better option for the Cowboys that season. This year, I wanted to create a mini-board for the Dallas Cowboys like I did that year, so I can see who the Cowboys should prioritize when their pick comes up, in my opinion. Think of it like a checklist: once a guy is drafted, cross him off the list and lock in on the next highest player; and since the Cowboys pick 26th overall, my list is 26 deep, meaning someone has to be available in the end.


Keep in mind, this doesn't fully reflect my personal rankings of these players on my personal big board, as I have taken into account positional need and scheme fit from the Cowboys' perspective, so you won't see any quarterbacks or other potential first-round players who I don't think the Cowboys should have any interest in drafting.


Tier 1: Unlikely


The first tier of players is a collection of some of the top talent in this year's draft at some of the most important positions. Realistically, none of these players should be available for the Cowboys at 26th overall, but if they were, the card should be sprinted in to draft them.


While the defensive line isn't an urgent need for the Cowboys, Will Anderson and Jalen Carter are the two clear best talents athletes in this draft, showing a mixture of size, athleticism and production. Next, I would prioritize the class's two best cornerbacks. Both Devon Witherspoon and Christian Gonzalez are elite athletes who have a strong understanding of how to play corner, but I believe the physical nature of Witherspoon gives him a better shot at being a true CB1 at the NFL level.


Lastly, we have the three best offensive linemen in the draft. Paris Johnson Jr. is an all-around tackle who will likely go very highly in this year's draft and is the best tackle prospect this year in my opinion. Peter Skoronski, though, might be the best offensive lineman in this class. His size brings concern for his ability to play tackle at the next level, but whether he plays guard or tackle, he looks like a long-term starter. Broderick Jones is last in the first tier, but he's still a mauler on the outside.


Tier 2: They could fall, but I doubt it


My second tier of players is a list of guys who I do not really expect to make it to Dallas at 26. Most of these guys will likely be top-20 picks, but if any of them trickle their way down, I would love for Dallas to have the opportunity to take them.


Other people seem to be higher on Tyree Wilson than I am, but that does not mean that I don't see his potential. Wilson has some refinement needed to better develop a pass-rushing plan, but it's hard to imagine someone built like him doesn't stumble into production in the right system. Wilson seems like a lock to go inside the top 10 this year, and I'm sure defensive coordinators are ecstatic to get the chance to mold him.


Next, we have a pair of offensive linemen and cornerbacks. I have some concerns with both Darnell Wright and Anton Harrison but for different reasons. Wright weighed in over 330 pounds, and bigger doesn't always mean better. His balance gave me concerns, but his power makes him an intriguing prospect. Harrison, though, does not bring the same level of power and run blocking that you get from Wright and is potentially a better scheme fit elsewhere.


As for the cornerbacks, they're not at the same level of all-around prospects as Witherspoon or Gonzalez, but they're still very solid. Joey Porter Jr. gets the edge as a fit for Dallas because of his abilities as a press corner and his size, but Deonte Banks is a great athlete and could be a great zone corner in the NFL.


Now for the parts that could ruffle some feathers, I have Bijan Robinson and Jaxon Smith-Njigba at the bottom of Tier 2, which may be higher than some Dallas fans want. However, if you don't think the Cowboys still need another playmaker on offense, I would simply disagree with you.


Robinson lives up to the hype he has received, easily being one of the best prospects we have seen from the running back position. His ability to stop and start on a dime and break tackles is some of the best that I have ever seen. While he may not have the long speed of some of the other running backs, I think that is an overrated trait. Running backs much more often threaten defenses with 5-to-15-yard runs, and that's where some of the NFL's best — like Nick Chubb — dominate. Robinson's 10-yard split of his 40-yard dash, 1.52 seconds, was third best in the class behind East Carolina's Keaton Mitchell — 1.48 — and Texas A&M's Devon Achane — 1.51 — who both are at least two inches shorter and 27 pounds lighter. At the price of Pick 26 and a cheap rookie contract, Robinson is worth the investment, especially with Tony Pollard on just a one-year deal.


The other offensive skill player in Tier 2, Smith-Njigba, is for my money the best slot receiver in a class full of slot receivers. I have concerns with some of the other prospects not on my list, like Boston College's Zay Flowers and USC's Jordan Addison that I don't share with Smith-Njigba. The Julian Edelman comparisons are warranted, as JSN is an elite separator in the low and middle parts of the field, showing off a mastery of footwork and positioning. I think he provides something different than CeeDee Lamb and Brandin Cooks bring, and the extra wrinkle he provides could be the edge the Cowboys need to go over the top offensively.


Tier 3: More likely


Realistically, I expect this tier of players to be the one Dallas ultimately selects from, though some of these names could go early if the right team wants them. For example, all three edge rushers — Nolan Smith, Lukas Van Ness and Myles Murphy — could be gone in the top 20 due to their elite traits.


All three of the aforementioned players need further development and had lower college production than you'd like, but they were all elite combine testers. Smith, however, is the guy I'd be most willing to bet on given his public interviews and knowledge of his character. Smith is the type of 110%-effort guy that could make the jump purely off of his intangibles. Next, I have Van Ness, and though he didn't start in college at Iowa, I think he has more versatility on the defensive line and a better floor as a run defender than Murphy, which I think better suits Dallas' needs.


After that, I have my top tight end in the class, and it's not the one most often mocked the Cowboys' way. I do think Notre Dame's Michael Mayer is a great prospect, but Dallas has an already existing stable of solid, young tight ends, and Mayer doesn't bring enough of a difference or edge to it. However, Dalton Kincaid is such a natural receiver and athlete at the position that I think he provides something new. Dak Prescott would love the way Kincaid finds himself open in between zones and over the middle of the field.


I rounded out Tier 3 with a pair of interior offensive linemen. I have Steve Avila ranked higher than O'Cyrus Torrence because I think he's a better athlete and more versatile. Avila tested in nearly the 85th percentile as an athlete and provides guard/center versatility. The Cowboys have struggled with health on the offensive line, and Avila gives them the best shot at putting the five best athletes on the field at a time, being able to play center/guard while Tyler Smith plays guard/tackle.


Tier 4: Wouldn't be upset


I said that, realistically, someone from Tier 3 should be available for Dallas at No. 26, but if Dallas sees itself in a worst-case scenario, I would not be upset to see these guys become a Cowboy.


Four of the six Tier 4 players are defensive linemen, with Adetomiwa Adeboware at the top. I love Adebawore's versatility as a lineman, and his ability to play inside and outside makes it easy to keep him on the field as a rusher whenever Parsons gets kicked down to the edge. He's also one of the best athletes ever at the position, running a 4.49-second 40-yard dash.


Bryan Bresee is also a great athlete, but he lacks a pass-rushing skill set and isn't the best run defender. He is versatile from an interior alignment perspective, though, which I think is important for Dallas. Another athletic lineman, Felix Anudike-Uzomah is more of an edge rusher, and he shows great ability to bend on the outside, matched by his 6.94-second three-cone drill time. Lastly is Mazi Smith, who I think is the rawest of them all. Smith has an elite athletic profile that he uses to defend the well expertly, but he had almost no sack production at the college level and requires a lot of refinement to be a pass rusher and every-down defensive tackle.


The final two players, ranked 23rd and 25th on my boards, were John Michael Schmitz and Jahmyr Gibbs. Schmitz is the best pure center in the class, and if the Cowboys want to upgrade from Tyler Biadasz, then he is a prime candidate. Schmitz is an elite run blocker and could transform the Cowboys' run game immediately. At running back Gibbs can bring something different than Robinson or Pollard. Gibbs is elusive in the open field and his contact balance is elite with the speed to match it. He's a bit smaller than an average every-down back, but he has a chance to provide game-breaking ability with the ball in his hand.

92 views0 comments
bottom of page